Chris Raabe Wins DIRTcar 358-Modified Feature On Night One Of Mohawk Nationals


HOGANSBURG, NY – With wall to wall sunshine night number one of the Mohawk Nationals were set to go with a full field of Dirtcar 358’s, the 9th annual Pete Mitchell Memorial race for the Dirtcar Sportsman along with the Dirtcar Pro Stocks “Battle of the Borders” race. After the time trials had set the field for the heats, it would be time for the features.

First up it was the Dirtcar Pro Stocks for their 30 lap “Battle of the Border” race with the winner walking away with $2,000. After the redraw concluded it would be Marc Lalonde firing from the pole. Lalonde would lead the first 6 laps until the yellow would come out for Shane Playford who came to a stop between 3 and 4. On the double file restart, Lalonde would continue to lead but Bruno Richard would make his way from the 9th starting spot into the top 4. The yellow would come out once again as Nick Hilt would find his car parked behind the backstretch wall. Hilt would be able to pull away but would make his way to the pits. On the restart on lap 13, Lalonde would still lead but Chad Jeseo would begin to challege for the lead. The yellow would come out on lap 26 as two cars slid off the track from Turn 1. On the restart Lalonde would not be challenged again and would pick up the win for the Battle of the Borders.

The Dirtcar 358 Modified 60 lap feature would be up next as Brian McDonald would lead from the pole position. McDonald would lead the first 10 laps until Johnny Jackson would overtake him for the lead on lap 11. The first yellow would be displayed on lap 34 as Taylor Caprara would find himself off of turn 3. On the lap 35 restart, Carey Terrance would be the new race leader as he would find his way around Jackson. Terrance would continue lead as Raabe would begin to apply to him by lap 53. On lap 55 Raabe would get by Terrance for the lead. Raabe would pick up his first Dirtcar 358 series win since 2015.

The final feature of the evening would be the Dirtcar Sportsman 9th annual Pete Mitchell Memorial race for 54 laps. Cedric Gauvreau would lead from the pole. He would lead the first 40 laps and be unchallenged, until the yellow would come out for Corey Castell in turn 3. On the restart, Gauvreau would set sail again and walk away from Shane Pecore, would had restarted in the 2nd position. However no one would be able to get close as Gauvreau would pick up the win.

NCCS Twin Leaf Feature (60 Laps): 1. 01-Chris Raabe[4]; 2. 18J-Louis Jackson Jr[2]; 3. 66X-Carey Terrance[3]; 4. 49-Billy Dunn[7]; 5. 25-Erick Rudolph[5]; 6. 151K-Brian McDonald[1]; 7. 28-Jordan McCreadie[11]; 8. R70-Ryan Arbuthnot[10]; 9. 31-Lance Willix[16]; 10. 15X-Justin Stone[8]; 11. 39-Ryan Bartlett[14]; 12. 7S-Shaun Shaw[6]; 13. M1-David Marcuccilli[13]; 14. 60-Jackson Gill[26]; 15. 18W-Scott Webb[17]; 16. 32R-Ronnie Davis III[12]; 17. 66W-Derek Webb[20]; 18. 2J-Robert Bublak[9]; 19. 23J-Jeff Sykes[24]; 20. 23L-Joey Ladouceur[23]; 21. 713-Tommy Collins[25]; 22. 11S-Steve Lewis Jr[27]; 23. 21R-RJ Tresidder[30]; 24. 58M-Marshall Hurd[28]; 25. 1X-Todd Stone[19]; 26. 87-Darryl Mitchell[29]; 27. 9-Tyler Meeks[22]; 28. 21T-Taylor Caprara[18]; 29. 29C-Matt Caprara[21]; 30. 7MM-Michael Maresca[15]

30 Battle Of the Borders: 1. 8-Marc Lalonde[1]; 2. 72-Bruno Richard[9]; 3. 72G-Denis Gauvreau[21]; 4. 194-Yves Hamel[11]; 5. 4-Roch Aubin[15]; 6. 2H-Luke Horning[5]; 7. 33-Bruno Cyr[25]; 8. 32-Jonathan Levesque Levesque[4]; 9. 57K-Kevin Fetterly Jr[8]; 10. 35-Jonathan Lemay[12]; 11. 56-Jay Fitzgerald[22]; 12. 17H-Nick Hilt[2]; 13. 6P-Shane Playford[17]; 14. 28-Burton Ward[10]; 15. 25J-Chad Jeseo[3]; 16. 23L-Terry Ladouceur[13]; 17. 9-Eric Jean Louis[19]; 18. 12-Alain Brochu[18]; 19. 2X-James Clarke[14]; 20. 102-Anthony Mossow[23]; 21. 11-Melvin Rush[20]; 22. 0N-Owen White[16]; 23. 22B-Blayne Nichols[26]; 24. 30-Zach Daniels[6]; 25. (DNS) 75-Eli Gilbert; 26. (DNS) 6-Stephen Lebrun; 27. (DNS) 1X-Justin White

Pete Mitchell Memorial (54 Laps): 1. 22C-Cedric Gauvreau[1]; 2. 0-Shane Pecore[7]; 3. 35-Thomas Cook[8]; 4. 04-Dale Gonyo Jr[2]; 5. 1-Robert Delormier[4]; 6. 94-Gabriel Cyr[5]; 7. 19-Jamy Begor[11]; 8. 44R-Dave Rogers[13]; 9. 92T-Tristan Ladouceur[10]; 10. 52-Jessica Power[24]; 11. 22X-Dylan Rabtoy[6]; 12. 88J-Justin Cyr[9]; 13. 22-Matt Leonard[15]; 14. 1L-Justin Lalancette[16]; 15. 26-Derrick Mcgrew Jr[19]; 16. 83D-Dustin Bradley[14]; 17. 20-Bucko Branham[3]; 18. 18JR-Jason Rose[12]; 19. 6XX-Travis Back[29]; 20. 44-Casey Swamp[17]; 21. 63M-Franklin Mackin[25]; 22. 9-Kristian Smoke[23]; 23. 10X-Cory Castell[20]; 24. 88-Fire Swamp[27]; 25. 34-Xavier Delormyer[18]; 26. 51-Matthew Bourey[28]; 27. 1R-Ricky Thompson[22]; 28. 7D-Eugene Tarbell[26]; 29. 23-Pryror Stacey[30]; 30. (DNF) 18X-Blayden Arquette[21]