Matt Woodruff Wins Friday Night’s 358-Modified Feature At Mohawk International Raceway


HOGANSBURG, NY – Corner Convenience and East End Convenience presents the 358 modifieds, Sportsman, Farnham Ale Pro Stock Series, Limited Sportsman, Mini Stocks, and an Enduro Special on Friday August 25,2023

WIth the regular season coming to an end with only two regular nights left, the track prep crew had their work cut out for them. As always the track prep crew was up to the task on this evening. The heats were over and everyone was ready to for some feature action.

The Farnham Ale Pro Stock Series was ready to go for their 35 lap series race. Starting on the front row it would be Gabriel Caoutte and Jonathan Levesque to take the first green flag. On the start, Caoutte would take lap 1 with Levesque in pursuit but the red flag would come out as one driver became airborne entering turn 3. Both drivers would be ok as word came from trackside. On the Farnham Ale Pro Stock series restart, Cauotte would once again show the way on the cars made their way in turn 1. Levesque would begin to challenge on the outside as the cars made their way down the backstretch. Ian Bressette would propel himself into the number 2 position to apply pressure to Caoutte for the lead. By lap 9 Caoutte would begin to walk away until the yellow would be displayed as a car came to a stop entering the pits. On the double file restart, Caoutte and Bressette would enter turn 1 , Kevin Fetterly would pull aside Bressette and take over the 2 position. The yellow flag would come out on lap 16 as Denis Gauvreau took it pitside with mechanical issues. On the restart, Caoutte would elect to fire from the inside with Fetterly Jr to his outside. Fetterly Jr would take the lead on the restart to become the new race leader on lap 17 with Caoutte remaining in second. Fetterly Jr would be able to keep Caoutte at bay. By lap 25 Bressette would duck underneath Caoutte for the number 2 spot. On lap 31 the yellow would come out for Lalonde as he came to a stop. On the restart, Fetterly Jr would walk away from the field to pick the win.

The Turtles Nest Diner Mini Stocks would venture out on the race track for their 15 lap feature. On the start, Curtis Lindsay would fire quickly from the 2 spot to take the early lead away from Felix Lavictoire. CJ Smith would take the lead away on lap 4 as he would begin to pull away from Lindsay. CJ Smith would go unchallenged to pick up the win.

The King Canna Limited Sportsman would take the to the speedway next for their 15 lap feature. Nick Mallette would start on the pole and make quick work of the field to pull away from Dustin Woods who was in second. Woods would eventually catch Mallette by lap 9 to overtake the lead. Mallette would pull off the track on lap 11, placing Devon Guyette in second. Woods would park it in Victory Lane for the King Canna Limited Sportsman.

The 358 modifieds would be up next for 30 laps for their feature. Matt Woodruff and Tommy Jock Jr would be starting on the front row. On the start Woodruff would fire like a rocket and begin to set a fast pace. However a car came to a stop off turn 4 to bring out the first yellow. On the double file restart, Woodruff would again launch himself into the lead. By lap 14 Louie Jackson Jr, who was running in second, would pull off the track. Robert Delormier would take over the 2 spot but Woodruff appeared to be getting stronger as the race continued. The yellow would come out as 2 cars came to a stop on the track. The field would be reset and the lead that Woodruff had gained would be negated. On the restart, Woodruff would power into turn 1 as the leader with Chris Raabe overcoming Delormier for the number 2 position. However the man to beat on this evening would be Matt Woodruff and no one was up for the challenge as Woodruff would pick up the win.

The Twin Leaf Sportsman feature would be the last feature before the Enduro. The 25 feature would see Blayden Arquette and Eugene make up the front row. On the start, Arquette would set a torrid pace with Dustin Bradley nipping at his heels. By lap 3, Bradley would slip underneath Arquette for the lead. Dale Gonyo would begin to catch Bradley by lap 11. Sensing a car near him, Bradley would hammer down to keep him in the lead. However by lap 14 Gonyo would duck to the inside coming into 4 to take the lead away from Bradley to become the new race leader. Gonyo would not look back on this night to pick up the win.

The Enduro winner was TJ Herne.


358 Mod Feature (30 Laps): 1. 55-Matt Woodruff[1]; 2. 01-Chris Raabe[9]; 3. 21X-Robert Delormier[3]; 4. 15B-Brianna Ladouceur[10]; 5. 151K-Brian McDonald[5]; 6. 7M-Madison Mulder[12]; 7. 555-Perry Francis[6]; 8. 34-George Foley[13]; 9. 66X-Carey Terrance[7]; 10. 23-Pryor Stacey[16]; 11. 54G-Greg Snyder[15]; 12. 74-Lucas Fuller[14]; 13. 31-Tommy Jock Jr[2]; 14. 18J-Louis Jackson Jr[4]; 15. 45-Preston Forbes[8]; 16. 83D-Dustin Bradley[17]; 17. 23P-Mike Stacey[11]

Sportsman Feature (25 Laps): 1. 04-Dale Gonyo Jr[6]; 2. 83D-Dustin Bradley[3]; 3. 22C-Cedric Gauvreau[8]; 4. 35-Thomas Cook[10]; 5. 29-Nick Heywood[9]; 6. 03-Joshua Jock[5]; 7. 9-Kristian Smoke[7]; 8. 35B-Brennan Moore[14]; 9. 18-Blayden Arquette[1]; 10. 10X-Cory Castell[12]; 11. 95J-Dan Jalbert[11]; 12. 44-Casey Swamp[4]; 13. 7D-Eugene Tarbell[2]; 14. (DNS) 1W-Brad reif

Pro-Stock Feature (35 Laps): 1. 57K-Kevin Fetterly Jr[8]; 2. 22G-Gabriel Caouette[1]; 3. 1X-Ian Bressette[3]; 4. 194-Yves Hamel[22]; 5. 22B-Blayne Nichols[11]; 6. 38JR-Justin Chaput[6]; 7. 15-Guy Viens[18]; 8. 48R-Jocelyn Roy[10]; 9. 28-Burton Ward[9]; 10. 33-Bruno Cyr[25]; 11. 72G-Denis Gauvreau[27]; 12. 9-Eric Jean Louis[15]; 13. AK47-Joel Herne[5]; 14. 35-Jonathan Lemay[12]; 15. 32-Jonathan Levesque[2]; 16. 58-Roxanne Roy[28]; 17. 8-Marc Lalonde[7]; 18. 4-Roch Aubin[26]; 19. 22-John Green[17]; 20. 97-Etienne Levesque[14]; 21. 61-Levi Bombard[23]; 22. 71-Delbert LaGrow Jr[4]; 23. 69-Bill Thwaits[16]; 24. 5-Sid Harmer Jr[20]; 25. 11L-Stephane Lariviere[13]; 26. 30-Zack Daniels[24]; 27. 11-Melvin Rush[19]; 28. 6-Stephane Lebrun[21]

A Feature 1: 1. 88D-CJ Smith[4]; 2. 88C-Curtis Lindsay[2]; 3. 125-Nicholas Harnden[5]; 4. 7-Antoine Dumouchel[7]; 5. 9-Jordan Terry[10]; 6. 50-Cale Manor[3]; 7. 111-Pat Sullivan[8]; 8. 114-Felix Lavictoire[1]; 9. 87-Steven Hennige[9]; 10. 7D-Macy Tarbell[11]; 11. 88X-TEHANONSAKHNION THOMPSON[13]; 12. 87C-Christopher Cordeau[15]; 13. (DNS) 64-Brad Jerome; 14. (DNS) 12A-Jamie Larocque; 15. (DNS) 58S-Brandon Lauzon; 16. (DNS) 21-Marc Voye

Limited Sportsman Feature (15 Laps): 1. 16-Dustin Woods[2]; 2. 11X-Devon Guyette[4]; 3. 35D-Dylan Moore[11]; 4. 72-Kevin Foster[6]; 5. JR7-Jacory Thompson[7]; 6. 1W-Kyle Reif[10]; 7. 04G-Dale Gonyo[9]; 8. 21L-Bob Laware[5]; 9. 14-Ty David[8]; 10. 18JR-Denis Rose[3]; 11. 314-Nick Mallette[1]