Historic Pete Mitchell Memorial Offering Big Money Thursday

By: TIM BALTZ – HOGANSBURG, NY – Pete Mitchell was a special person and a great mechanic who the Mohawk International Raceway lost unexpectedly.

In 2014 it was decided to have a special big paying event to honor our friend with a special 75 lap event that paid mega bucks. The weather was not on our side, matter of fact many were wondering if the event would even happen. After holding out for many hours on Saturday night, the first heat race rolled off at just after midnight on Sunday morning. By 4:30am when all was complete it was 2 time Sportsman track champion Dylan Evoy from Brockville taking the win and the big check.

Since that memorable event in 2014 the race has seen no repeat winners with Corey Wheeler taking the Sunday afternoon event in 2015, Shane Pecore won the 100 lap contest in 2016 while defending track champion Johnathon Ferguson from Prescott claimed the win in the 75 lap affair along with his first ever DirtCar Sportsman tour win.

Ferguson will be among the heavy favorites once again as he looks to become the first repeat winner but other drivers at Mohawk as of late have showed their muscle and will also be on the list of favorites. Brianna Ladouceur picked up her 3rd win of the season 2 weeks ago and fresh off a 100 lap win in Cornwall Sunday night, will be looking to keep the roll going. Mike Stacey has also been running strong as well. After finishing 2nd 2 weeks ago he came back and ended a near 1 year winless drought with his first win of the season along with a top 5 effort at Cornwall this past Sunday. Shane Pecore is another driver you can add to the list. After a big win in the Unique Ecigs Sportsman Series event at Mohawk back in July and being a former winner of this race 2 years ago, he could also be the first to win it twice along with Ferguson.

The racing action will be in full force as the DirtCar 358 Modified North Regional Series will be on track for 75 lap $4000 to win race. Steve Bernard won last year’s event on his way to a 2nd series crown but many outside invaders like Billy Dunn and Jordan McCreadie will be on hand with Dunn leading all drivers in this race with 4 victories. Track regulars like Tim Fuller and Chris Raabe who have won all 11 races in 2018 will have a say as to who gets to victory lane along with Lance Willix, Brian McDonald, Carey Terrance and a host of others. The Mod Lite division will also be on hand and drivers like Dan Reif Harley Brown and Styles Arquiett will be looking for victory in their rare mid week appearance.

Pit gates open at 4pm, main gates open at 5pm with hot laps starting at 6:45pm. General admission is just $25 for adults $20 for students and seniors, children 15 and under will be admitted free.

For more information on this event and everything happening at the speedway check out our website at mohawkintlraceway.com or follow us on Facebook and Twitter.