Cedric Gauvreau Sweeps Sportsman Main Events On The Weekend At Mohawk International


HOGANSBURG, NY – The final evening of the 2022 was all set with CKON 97.3 as the sponsor for the evening. A full card of Dirtcar Sportsman, Dirtcar Pro Stocks, Vintage Mods, Novice Sportsman, and Mod Lites were ready to battle. After the heat racing was over, it was time for the features. On the schedule it was a 40 lap Dirtcar Sportsman Tour race, a Dirtcar Pro Stock 30 lap tour race, along with the other classes.

First to hit the track, it would be the Novice Sportsman for 20 laps. Xavier Delormier would start on the pole and dominate the field on this evening. A late race caution would bring the field back together but Delormier was too tough on this night and would pick up the win.

The Mod lites were up next for their 20 lap event. It would be Joe Isabell starting from the pole in this event. Joe Isabell would dominate the field for all 20 laps to secure the win.

The Vintage Modifieds were set to do battle for 20 laps. Jason Riddell would set the quick pace early on with Steve Billings in pursuit. It appeared as if Riddell would run away with the race but mechanical issues caused Riddell to take his ride pitside on lap 14. Billings would take over from there and pick up the win.

The Dirtcar Series for the Pro Stocks were all set to go for 30 laps. Denis Gauvreau would start on the pole with Bruno Richard to his outside. Richard would lead the first 4 laps until the yellow came out for a three car incident on lap 4. On the restart, Richard would fire from the outside groove as the leader. Richard would keep the lead until lead 17 until the yellow came out for a car on the backstretch. The lap 17 restart would see Richard again fire from the outside with Bruno Cyr as the number 2 car to the inside. Cyr would beat Richard to turn 1 and move up the track to overtake Richard. On lap 18 Chad Jeseo would also get around Richard then Cyr for the lead. The yellow would come out on lap 20 for a car that had spun out in turn 4. On the lap 20 restart Jeseo would get out to a quick lead again but Bruno Richard was the car to watch as he went from 5th to 2nd. However Jeseo would have the field covered and picked up the win.

The final feature of the evening would be the Dirtcar Sportsman series race for 40 laps. Codie Aubin and Bucko Branham would see the green flag first as the cars came off of turn 4. The quick pace would be set by Aubin but the car to watch was Cedric Gauvreau was picking cars off from the highside. Gauvreau would use the top groove to his advantage and take the lead on lap 20. Gauvreau would open a commanding lead until lap 36 when Jessica Power’s car would see a motor let go bringing out the caution. Gauvreau would quickly enter turn 1 but the yellow would come out as a car slide off the track in turn 1. On the restart with 4 to go Gauvreau would once again beat everyone off of turn 2. The green would stay out as Gauvreau would pick up his second win of the weekend.

DIRTcar Sportsman Feature (40 Laps): 1. 22C-Cedric Gauvreau[12]; 2. 7-Codie Aubin[1]; 3. 03-Joshua Jock[6]; 4. 35-Thomas Cook[15]; 5. 1-Robert Delormier[8]; 6. 10X-Cory Castell[5]; 7. 20-Bucko Branham[2]; 8. 44R-David Rogers[7]; 9. 04-Dale Gonyo Jr[17]; 10. 26-Derrick Mcgrew Jr[11]; 11. 71-Delbert Legrow Jr[4]; 12. 33-Travis Bruno[21]; 13. 2-Taylor Doxtater[25]; 14. 92T-Tristan Ladouceur[3]; 15. 44-Casey Swamp[24]; 16. 6XX-Travis Back[16]; 17. 3-Adam Rozon[9]; 18. 18JR-Jason Rose[13]; 19. 66B-Jason Bruno[27]; 20. 8-Steve Bushey[22]; 21. 9-Kristian Smoke[10]; 22. D1-Dillon Cole[20]; 23. 18X-Blayden Arquette[28]; 24. (DNF) 19-Jamy Begor[26]; 25. (DNF) 52-Jessica Power[14]; 26. (DNF) M70-Billy Cook[30]; 27. (DNF) 11X-Devon Guyette[19]; 28. (DNF) 51-Matthew Bourey[29]; 29. (DNF) 83D-Dustin Bradley[18]; 30. (DNS) 1R-Ricky Thompson

DIRTcar Prostock Series (30 Laps): 1. 25J-Chad Jeseo[5]; 2. 72-Bruno Richard[2]; 3. 75-Eli Gilbert[8]; 4. 33-Bruno Cyr[7]; 5. 8-Marc Lalonde[12]; 6. 72G-Denis Gauvreau[1]; 7. 2H-Luke Horning[10]; 8. 4-Roch Aubin[15]; 9. 1X-Justin White[17]; 10. 57K-Kevin Fetterly Jr[9]; 11. 22B-Blayne Nichols[3]; 12. 6P-Shane Playford[4]; 13. 56-Jay Fitzgerald[27]; 14. X15-Tyler Bushey[6]; 15. 23L-Terry Ladouceur[26]; 16. 194-Yves Hamel[24]; 17. 0N-Owen White[29]; 18. 38JR-Justin Chaput[13]; 19. 35-Jonathan Lemay[19]; 20. 17H-Nick Hilt[21]; 21. 14J-Johnny Rivers[18]; 22. 9-Eric Jean Louis[20]; 23. 6C-Brian Carter[30]; 24. 12-Alain Brochu[14]; 25. 6-Stephen Lebrun[16]; 26. 55-David Stickles[23]; 27. O9J-Shawn Perez[25]; 28. 2X-James Clarke[11]; 29. 28-Burton Ward[22]; 30. (DNS) 102-Anthony Mossow

Novice Sportsman Feature (20 Laps): 1. 34-Xavier Delormyer[1]; 2. 18-Tony Arquette[4]; 3. 14-Ty David[3]; 4. 4D7-Blaze Benedict[2]; 5. 04G-Dale Gonyo[5]; 6. 25S-Steven Tremblay[7]; 7. 00T-Terry Lamica[6]
Mod Lite Feature (20 Laps): 1. 6J-Joe Isabell[1]; 2. 8-Harley Brown[3]; 3. 4-Tristan Dibble[2]; 4. 9-Roger Olschewske Jr[5]; 5. 5-Dustin Woods[4]; 6. 11X-Jack Lyon[6]; 7. 18-Todd Fleury[8]; 8. 33-Chris Taylor[7]