Chris Raabe Wins As Sovereign Cannabis Co. Presents Race #2 At Mohawk International


HOGANSBURG, PA – Feature racing action started out with the Mini Stock division as 11 cars started the 12 lap event. CJ Smith and Terry Green started out on the front row. CJ Smith looked to redeem himself from last weeks struggles as he jumped out to the early lead. A hard battle between the top 3 drivers including Curtis Lindsay. After a caution at halfway for a stopped Macy Tarbell, Terry Green would jump out to the lead. With 1 lap to go CJ Smith would loop his car around in Turn 2 and bring out a caution. With a 1 lap dash to settle the score it would be Terry Green who would emerge victorious picking up his first mini stock win of the season with Nicholas Harden, Curtis Lyndsay, Jacob Fountain, and Cale Manor rounding out the top 5.

Limited Sportsman would have Dustin Woods take the lead early on and never look back as he picked up his first career win over a hard charging Nick Mallette and Dale Gonyo.

The 358 modifieds would take to the track next with last weeks winner Jonathon Ferguson on the pole and Chris Raabe to his outside. At the start it looked like Ferguson would be on his way to another win as he set the pace early on but lap traffic would be a factor which allowed Chris Raabe to close the gap. Midway through Chris Raabe would pull a crossover move while maneuvering through lap cars that would put him ahead of Jonathon Ferguson. Raabe would go on to take the win over Jonathon Ferguson, Louis Jackson JR, Carey Terrance and Lucas Fuller rounding out the top 5.

The sportsman feature would see lead changes with Cory Castell and David Roger swapping spots early. Nick Heywood would find some speed on the high side and would power on by taking the lead on lap 5. Cedric Gauvreau would chase down Heywood and closed in at halfway. Thomas Cook added himself to the mix as would contend for 2nd place. In the end it would be Nick Heywood over Cedrick Gauvreau, Thomas Cook, Shane Pecore, and David Rogers.

Prostock would see 3 wide battles in the opening laps. He battled with Ian Bressette and Kevin Fetterly JR for the first half of the race. They would get themselves sorted out and Marc Lalonde would ride the bottom of the speedway to cruse to his first win of the season over Kevin Fetterly JR and Burton Ward. Ian Bressette who was running 2nd spun out on the final lap would regroup and finish 10th.

The final race of the night was a 15-lap slick track enduro special. 14 cars took to the speedway with the 249 of TJ Herne picking up the win over Chad Lawrence, Mason Phillips and Tony Jackson.

Frenchies Chevy presents the 31st annual Memorial Cup this Friday May 26, 2023. Racing starts at 7:30pm. Chris Raabe has the opportunity to break the record for most memorial cup win as he is currently tied with Dave Heaslip with 4. Other past winners include Carey Terrance, Randy Connors and Billy King